Buyer's Guide August 10, 2026 34 min read

Best BMX Race Frames 2026: The Complete Field, Compared

Supercross Completes Return Christmas 2026
Our first complete race bike line in over 15 years. Built frame-first, not price-first. →
Best BMX Race Frames 2026: The Complete Field, Compared

By Bill Ryan · Founder of Supercross BMX · Designer of the Hi-Tech BMX frame, featured in BMX Plus! January 1984 (age 14) · Designer of 8× Bike of the Year race frames · Designer of the SE Assassin · 45 years building BMX frames

Disclosure before anything else: I build BMX race frames for a living. Supercross is my company, and so is Torker — between them, ten of the frames in this guide are mine. I am telling you that up front because you should weigh what I say accordingly. What I can give you that a shop roundup cannot is 45 years of knowing what these numbers mean once the gate drops. Aluminum and carbon specs were read off each brand's own product page on 9 August 2026; the chromoly field was researched on 10 August 2026. Where a brand does not publish something, I wrote "Not published" instead of filling the gap. There is far more of that than you would expect.

Start here: sizing beats material, every time

The most expensive frame in the wrong size will lose to a mid-priced frame that fits. A top tube that is too long puts a rider late out of the gate and unsettled through the turns, and no alloy on earth corrects that. If you are buying for a kid who is growing three inches a year, buy the size that fits today, not the one they will grow into.

The other end of the size run gets talked about far less, and it matters just as much. We build the big sizes across all three race platforms — the Vision F1, the Vision F1x and the 2026 ENVY RS7. Kye Whyte, Oli Moran and Gaige Gomolicke all race them, and Kristers Apels is on a Vision F1x in the 4XXXXL. If you are a tall adult rider, read the top of a size chart as carefully as a parent reads the bottom of it.

Work out the size first. Then come back and argue about metal. Our BMX frame sizing chart will get you there in about five minutes.

Before the tables: what a frame price actually buys

This is the single most misleading number in frame shopping, and almost nobody explains it. Two frames at the same price can be completely different purchases, because some are sold as a bare frame and some are sold as a complete chassis.

A carbon fork on its own runs several hundred dollars. A sealed integrated headset, disc adapters and axle chips add up fast on top of that. So a $1,699 frame that needs a fork is not cheaper than a $1,995 chassis that includes one — it is more expensive, and you find that out at the second checkout.

Our Vision F1 Pro Chassis at $1,995.95 ships with the frame, the matched Toray T700S Nano Alloy carbon fork, a sealed 1-1/8" to 1.5" integrated headset, a hydraulic disc brake adapter kit, a mechanical disc brake adapter arm, two removable V-brake mounts, the chain idler and guide, and the steering tube top cap. Pro size and larger also get both FLIP/CHIP sets, 15mm and 10mm, plus the 20mm axle adapters that the Pro fork uses.

Expert XL and smaller are specified for the rider, not just scaled down: those chassis kits run a 3/8" dropout fork that needs no axle adapters at all, and ship with the 10mm FLIP/CHIP set and the disc brake adapters. Either way it is a build-ready front-to-back chassis, not a frame you start shopping from.

Inspyre is the one competitor that states its terms plainly — the ERA CF is listed as "frame only." Credit where it is due; that is the honest way to price. Most brands in the carbon table simply do not say either way, which is why the included column below reads "Not published" so often. Ask before you buy, and compare the total cost of a rideable chassis rather than the number on the frame page.

The bottom bracket column is not a footnote. Read it first.

Every table below has a bottom bracket column, and most people skim past it. Do not. It is the single line most likely to decide whether your bike is silent in three years or creaking at every gate.

Press-fit — BB86, BB92, BB30, PF30, BB386, and Mid — has no threads at all. The bearings are pressed straight into the frame shell as an interference fit. That is cheaper to manufacture, because you skip the threading and facing operations entirely, and on a carbon frame it means you never have to bond a threaded insert into the layup. The catch is that the whole joint depends on the shell being held to a very tight tolerance and staying there. Aluminum and carbon both move with temperature and load. When a press fit loosens by a fraction of a millimetre, it creaks — and there is nothing to tighten, because there is no thread to take up the slack. You are into shims, retaining compound, or a new frame.

Threaded — Euro (BSA) 68 mm and T47 — has cups that screw into the shell. Preload is set with a torque wrench, and if it ever works loose you tighten it. If the threads get damaged a shop can chase them. It can be serviced at a track in a parking lot with standard tools. Euro is the long-standing standard. T47 is the king, because it keeps the threads while taking the large shell diameter of a press-fit design, which is what gives you room for bigger bearings and a stiff 30 mm spindle without giving up the interface.

And if someone tells you press-fit is stiffer — it can be, and that is a fair claim. A wider shell takes a bigger bearing, and a bigger bearing allows a 30 mm spindle, which is stiffer in torsion. But that stiffness comes from the shell diameter, not from the missing threads. Threads never made a bottom bracket flexible; a narrow shell did. T47 takes the same wide shell and cuts threads into it, so nothing has to be traded. And stiffness figures are measured on a new frame — a creaking press-fit shell is a joint with play in it at the highest-load junction on the bike, which is a stiffness failure by definition, with no thread to take that play back out.

The tell that settles the argument. Chris King builds the most respected bearings in cycling, and they named their entire bottom bracket range ThreadFit — including a ThreadFit 30 whose whole purpose is to put a threaded interface back into a shell sized for press-fit, and a ThreadFit T47. A company that lives and dies on bearing life engineered its way toward threads, not away from them.

I will be straight about our own history here, because it makes the point better than a clean claim would. The original Supercross cro-mo frames used an American bottom bracket — a press-fit shell, and the standard of the day. Nearly every US-built BMX frame ran one. We introduced the threaded Euro shell in 2001 on the UL series and have never gone back. Twenty-five years of the same decision, made once, after building frames the other way first.

We have also tested the other side of it twice since. In 2007 FSA pushed us to build press-fit and we made prototypes, and we built a small run of Mid BB ENVY frames for Kris Fox while he rode for us. Mid deserves its due here — it takes a bigger bearing than Euro, which is exactly why freestyle adopted it and still runs it. That was a fair argument against Euro for years. T47 ends it: you get the bigger bearing and you keep the threaded cups.

Bottom bracket standards come and go — BB30 arrived as the future, PF30 arrived as the fix for BB30, and both have largely left the race side of the sport. A threaded shell has outlived every one of them. The full engineering write-up is in our bottom bracket whitepaper.

Now go back and read the bottom bracket column in the tables below with that in mind. Six of the ten carbon frames in this guide use a press-fit shell. Several aluminum frames start out threaded Euro in the small sizes and switch to press-fit in the Pro sizes — which is to say, the frames aimed at the riders putting down the most power are the ones giving up the threads.

The rear dropout and the chain — the other spec nobody compares

Same problem as the bottom bracket. Every frame lists "dropouts" and almost nobody explains what the differences actually do once you are riding.

A traditional dropout is a slot. It is open at one end, and the axle sits in it and gets clamped. Under load — and especially under disc braking, where the caliper tries to drive the wheel forward out of the slot — that open end can spread. The trade calls it the horseshoe effect. When it happens the wheel shifts, the chain line goes with it, and on a disc setup the rotor moves relative to the caliper.

A captive dropout encases the axle instead of slotting it. The wheel sits where you put it, the chain line stays true, and disc position repeats every time the wheel comes out. Our Vision F1, Vision F1x and Vision RSX all run one — solid carbon on the F1 and F1x, hollow CNC 6061-T6 billet on the RSX with 12 mm of solid aluminum where the axle actually clamps.

FLIP/CHIP does two jobs on those frames. It sizes the dropout for a 15 mm or a 10 mm (3/8") axle, so you are not locked to one axle standard or forced to rebuild a wheel to switch. And it flips to move the axle forward or back, which changes chainstay length — tighter for a track that rewards acceleration, longer for stability. Pro chassis ship with both sets; Expert XL and smaller get the 10 mm set.

And the chain idler is built into the frame rather than bolted onto it. An integrated idler cannot work loose, cannot rattle, and has no arm to shear — it is structure rather than an accessory. It is there to take chain slack out on a long rear end. If you would rather run without one, the FLIP/CHIP is optimised for 44/16 gearing with a half-link chain across the Pro sizes.

What to ask before you buy: is the rear dropout captive or slotted, will it take both axle sizes, and is the idler integrated into the frame or bolted to it? Those three answers tell you more about how a frame behaves in year two than any weight figure will.

What the rulebooks actually require of a frame

This part gets misreported constantly, so here is what the current documents say. I am working from UCI Part 6 BMX Racing (version 01.01.2026), UCI Part 1 General Organisation (version 01.07.2026), and the 2026 USA BMX rulebook. Article numbers below follow the USA BMX rulebook's body headings, which run one ahead of its own table of contents.

Start with the article nobody quotes. UCI 6.1.071 says BMX equipment "must meet the general specifications provided in this chapter and must also comply with the regulations detailed in Part I, Chapter III." So Part 1 is not switched off for BMX wholesale. What matters is that individual articles inside it carry their own scope, and the two everyone worries about scope us out.

There is no minimum weight for a BMX race bike. None. The famous 6.8 kg figure is UCI Article 1.3.019, and it sits under the unnumbered preamble to Part 1, Chapter III, Section 2, § 2, which reads: "Except where stated to the contrary, the following technical specifications shall apply to bicycles used in road, track and cyclo-cross competitions. The specific characteristics of bicycles used in mountain bike, gravel, BMX Racing... are set out in the part regulating the discipline in question." BMX is named in the carve-out. Confirming it from the other direction: the word "weight" appears nowhere in UCI Part 6, and nowhere in the 2026 USA BMX rulebook. Build it as light as you can make it safe.

There is no material restriction. Carbon, aluminum, chromoly and titanium are all legal under both codes. UCI 6.1.073 asks only that a frame be "devoid of any cracked or bent frame members or welds which are cracked or otherwise deficient," and USA BMX IX.B.11 asks for "structurally sound condition with no broken weld or jagged exposures." Worth knowing that USA BMX IX.B.16 gives the track the final say regardless: "All equipment is subject to the approval of the Sanction and/or Track Operator."

The UCI tubing rules do not apply to BMX. Article 1.3.020 opens with "For road, track and for cyclo-cross competitions." No main-triangle requirement, no cross-section limits, no seat-post shape rule for us. The one Chapter III equipment article that is pulled in by name is 1.3.024 on aerodynamics, via 6.1.073. Practical reading: an aero-profiled down tube is frame structure and fine, a bolt-on fairing is not.

Disc brakes are expressly legal under UCI — 1.3.025 states it plainly: "Disc brakes are allowed in BMX racing training and competition." Under UCI 6.1.077 the rear brake is mandatory and must be hand-operated with the cable or hose secured to the frame, and the front brake is optional. USA BMX is looser and never mentions discs at all. IX.B.8 asks only that "all bicycles must have an operating braking system — hand and/or coaster (foot) brake," so a coaster is legal there and discs are legal by silence. If you have read that UCI bans disc brakes, whatever you read was wrong.

Which matters before you buy, because a frame built around one brake system makes that choice for you permanently. Ours do not. The 2026 ENVY RS7 ships with removable V-brake mounts and a welded-on disc tab in every size, Micro through Pro XXXXL. The Vision RSX and both Vision carbon frames take V-brake or disc with removable mounts included. At the other end of the field, Cult lists its race frames as disc only. Read the brake spec as carefully as the alloy.

Two things that will catch you out. UCI 6.1.073 bans "any superfluous welded or mechanically fastened fittings such as chain guard lugs," so a frame with welded-on guard tabs is non-compliant. And USA BMX VIII.12 wants a side number area of at least 2.95" (75 mm) high by 4.75" (120 mm) wide, placed at the front triangle touching the head tube, with room for up to three numbers — and it must be on both sides of the frame. Check that your frame gives you that flat on both sides before you buy it.

There is no UCI frame homologation for BMX. Article 1.3.001 bis limits the approval protocols to road, track, cyclo-cross and EPAC. No BMX frame carries a UCI approval sticker.

The 2026 aluminum field

Aluminum is where most of this sport actually races, and 2026 was an interesting year for it because the alloy conversation finally moved.

Frame Alloy Sizes Bottom bracket Price (USD)
Supercross ENVY RS7 (2026) 6069-T4/T6, double heat-treated. Triple butted Micro to Pro XXXXL, plus seven 24" sizes T47 threaded (Pro and up), Euro (Expert XXL and down) $699.95
Supercross Vision RSX Taper-wall 6000 series, 6061-T6 billet dropouts Mini to Pro XXXL, plus 24" Pro XL Euro threaded, every size $549.95
Chase RSP 5.0 7005-T6. Triple and double butted, hydroformed 11× 20", 2× OS20, 2× 24" Euro BSA 68 mm (small), PressFit BB86 (Expert XL up) $609.99
Meybo Holeshot 2026 6061-T6. Multi-butted, hydroformed Mini to Pro 23, plus two cruisers BB386 (all Pro sizes), Euro BSA (Mini to Expert XL) $774.95
Stay Strong For Life V5.1 Not published by brand (retailers list 6061-T6). Triple and double butted Mini to Pro XXXXL, three cruisers BB86 $699.95
Tangent Rift ES20D 7005, double heat-treated. Hydroformed, CNC dropouts Mini to Pro SXH, plus 24" T47 × 68 mm (Pro SXH); other sizes not published $649.95 small
$899 Pro
Radio Raceline Helium Hydroformed 6061 (no temper published) Nine sizes, Mini to Pro XXXXL Euro threaded $647.99
Inspyre Concorde V3 6061-T6, with 7075-T6 dropout plates. Triple butted Junior to Pro 4XL, two cruisers Euro BSA (youth), PressFit BB86 (Pro) ~$694–$751
(priced in euros)
DK Professional-X "6000 series" (no temper published). Hydroformed Pro to XXX, plus cruiser Threaded Euro shell $649.99
Daylight ARC (c2 specs; c3 is current) 6061-T6. Hydroformed, TIG welded, built in the USA Pony to Pro XXXL, plus 24" sizes T47, 86.5 mm shell c3 $1,199.99–$1,499.99

What our two bring that the table cannot hold. The 2026 ENVY RS7 ships removable V-brake mounts and a welded-on disc tab in every size, with 15mm dropouts and 10mm adapters on Pro and up. The Vision RSX runs hollow CNC billet dropouts with 12mm of solid alloy at the axle, a fully captive rear dropout for disc, molded internal cable ports for both V and disc routing, removable mounts for both systems, a built-in chain idler and guide, and FLIP/CHIP axle inserts for 15mm or 10mm — and the Pro kit includes the hydraulic and mechanical disc adapters, the V-brake mounts, both FLIP/CHIP sets and the idler.

What changed in aluminum this year

For a decade the argument was 7005 against 6061, and 7005 generally won it on raw numbers. What moved in 2026 is heat treatment. We took the RS7 off 7005 and onto double heat-treated 6069-T4/T6, and the reason is what happens at the welds.

Alloys in the 6xxx family accept the full T-6 process: solution heat treatment, a liquid quench, then artificial aging. The whole frame hardens after it is built, weld zones included. Alloys in the 7xxx family are prone to stress cracking if you liquid quench them, so they get a gentler air cool that only partially restores the heat-affected zone around each weld. Your welds are exactly where a race frame gets tested. The 6069 recipe then adds vanadium as a grain refiner on top of the usual magnesium, silicon and copper, which is what buys the yield and fatigue numbers back and then some.

Measured side by side: 6069-T6 lands around 380 to 414 MPa yield against roughly 290 MPa for 7005-T6, and about 410 to 448 MPa tensile against 350. Yield is the force needed to bend metal permanently; tensile is the force needed to tear it apart. MPa is a pressure unit, roughly 145 PSI to the megapascal. Both alloys vary by form and supplier, so treat these as the mainstream published figures rather than a single fixed number.

Be honest with yourself about whether you will feel it. On a single lap, most riders will not detect a 30 percent yield difference. What you feel across three seasons is the frame not going soft. That is a real return and it is a long one, and it favors riders who are genuinely loading a frame. If you are not yet, spend the difference on wheels. We went deeper on that trade-off, and on who should buy which of our two aluminum frames, in ENVY RS7 vs Vision RSX.

The 2026 chromoly field

Chromoly gets left out of buying guides because it is heavier than aluminum and nobody wins an Elite World Cup on it. Leaving it out is a mistake. Steel is repairable, it survives being ridden places a race frame was never meant to go, it costs less, and for a huge number of riders — vintage class, cruiser, the kid who races Saturday and hits the skatepark Sunday — it is the correct answer.

One scope note that applies to every table in this guide. Racing means 20" and 24" cruiser. Several brands build the same frame platform in 26" and 29", and those are Big BMX — a different bike for a different reason, and not something you line up on at a national. Where a frame exists in both, only the race sizes are listed here. The Torker Barbarian-2 is the clearest example: its 24" is a cruiser race frame, its 26" and 29" are not, so only the 24" appears below.

It is also a thinner field than most people assume. Of twelve brands checked on 10 August 2026, five ship a chromoly frame you can legitimately race: Supercross, Torker, Standard, Cult and S&M — the last of those with the Mad Dog, which S&M positions for the trails and the track, and which comes with caveats I have set out under the table. Another frame is on the way: S&M's Hatchet, a purpose-built race frame covered further down. Plenty of brands build superb chromoly beyond these — Sunday's entire line is 4130 — but street and park frames are a different geometry for a different job.

Frame Tubing (as published) Sizes BB Fork Brakes Weight Price
Supercross SX450
Bubba Harris Edition
Reynolds double and triple butted air-hardened chromoly Pro, Pro XL, Pro XXL, Pro XXXL, Pro 24", Pro XL 24" Euro Frame only V-brake 4 lb 2.8 oz –
4 lb 6 oz
$499.95–
$589.95
Supercross OS20 SX450 Same platform, OS20 (451) geometry OS20 Pro XL, Pro XXL, Pro XXXL Euro Frame only V-brake Not published $399.95–
$589.95
Torker PRO-X Seamless 4130 chromoly Pro 20.5", Pro XL 21.25", Pro XXL 21.75", 24" Pro 21.5", 24" Pro XL 22" Euro Included V-brake Not published $649.95
Torker LP Race Seamless 4130 chromoly Pro 20.5", Pro XL 21.25", Pro XXL 21.75" Euro Included V-brake Not published $599.95
Torker EK 20" GEN II Seamless 4130 chromoly, period-correct build spec Pro 20.5", Pro XL 21.25", Pro XXL 21.75" Euro Included — 1" threaded Side-pull Not published $549.95
Torker Barbarian-2 Seamless 4130 chromoly. 5-1/2" head tube Pro 24" — 22" TT (26" and 29" are Big BMX, out of scope) Euro Included V-brake Not published $599.95
S&M Mad Dog 990 (20") Not stated by S&M — retailers list chromoly 20.5", 21", 21.25", 21.5", 21.75", 22" Mid Frame only 990 mounts 4.9 lb $549.95
Standard 125R Series "High-tech air hardened tubing" — alloy not published 20", 20.5", 20.75", 21", 21.25", 21.5", 21.75", 22" Euro Frame only Canti/V, 990, disc +$50 3.8 lb $549.00
Standard 100R Expert / XL / XXL Not published 19", 19.75", 20" — 20" or 24" wheel Euro Frame only Canti 2 lb 14 oz $599.00
Standard 80R Junior Not published 18", 18.5" — 20" or 24" wheel Euro Frame only Canti 2 lb 6 oz $599.00
Standard 50R Micro & Mini Not published ("steel is real") 15", 16", 17", 17.5" Not pub. Frame only Not published 1 lb 15 oz $649.00
Cult Race Frame (Vick Behm) "Made out of chromoly" 20.5", 21", 21.5", 21.8", 22" 68 mm Euro Frame only Disc only "Just over 4 lbs" $399.00
Cult 24" Race Frame "Made out of chromoly" 22" (single size) Euro Frame only Disc only "Just over 4 lbs" $399.00

Construction detail the table cannot hold. The SX450 runs a full CNC-machined Campy integrated head tube, a CNC'd Euro BB shell, a butted and tapered seat mast, tapered and butted seat and chain stays, and back-side CNC'd laser-cut dropouts with 10mm slots welded onto capped stay ends, with external brake routing. Its matching SLT fork is sold separately. Torker's race frames share quarter-inch laser-cut dropouts and a modern chainstay brace, with the PRO-X on 1984-spec triangle downtube gussets and the LP on 1978-spec sideplates, and every one includes a heat-treated chromoly fork. The Mad Dog has a wishbone rear, a 5" tall integrated Campy-style head tube and can be drilled for gyro tabs for $50.

Reading the chromoly table honestly

Two things jump out, and one of them cuts against us.

The first is that every Torker race frame includes a heat-treated chromoly fork in the price and our Supercross SX450 does not. That is a real difference and it is worth money — at $649.95 the Torker PRO-X is a complete frame and fork, while the SX450 at $499.95 still needs an SLT fork before you can build it. Both are mine. I am not going to pretend the Supercross number is the better deal when the Torker one includes more.

The second is a wording problem worth knowing about across the whole category. Standard has been building race frames in Davenport, Iowa for decades and their weights are the lightest published here — 1 lb 15 oz on the 50R. But on no Standard race-frame page does the company write "4130" or "chromoly." The pages say "high-tech air hardened tubing," "250L/Trailboss tube set," and "steel is real." Air-hardened tubing is a chromoly-family steel and Standard's reputation is not in question, but the alloy is not stated, so I have not stated it for them. Same discipline applies to Cult, which says "made out of chromoly" without naming a grade, and to S&M, whose Mad Dog page does not name an alloy at all.

Torker is the only brand here publishing seamless 4130 by name. Seamless tubing is drawn over a mandrel with no seam weld running its length, as opposed to tube rolled from flat stock and welded closed. It is a genuine material spec, not a marketing word, and it is the kind of thing that belongs on a spec sheet.

Nobody publishes a frame weight at Torker, and Standard, Cult and S&M all do. That is a gap on our side of the table, not a virtue.

Why the Mad Dog is in this table

The S&M Mad Dog gets filed under dirt and trails by most people, including by S&M's own product tags. I have put it in anyway, because S&M's own description says it is built for riders who want to "terrorize the trails and the track." Track is in the sentence. It is the reincarnation of Chris Moeller's frame, and Moeller raced.

But buy it knowing what it is not. The Mad Dog runs a Mid bottom bracket, 3/8" dropouts and traditional 110mm BMX rear spacing, with chain-stay 990 brake mounts. A modern race frame runs a Euro or T47 shell and 10mm or 15mm dropouts, and takes a V-brake or a disc. So the Mad Dog will not accept the cranks, the axles or the brakes off a current race build without a rethink, and at 4.9 lb it is heavier than everything else in this table.

What you get for that is a frame from a company that has been welding in Santa Ana longer than most of this field has existed, built around a rider who could actually ride. If you race a vintage or a cruiser class, or you want one bike for the track and the trails and you are not chasing a national number, it earns its place. If you are trying to win 17 Expert on Sunday, buy something with a Euro shell.

The 2026 carbon field

Ten carbon race frames are current for 2026. This is where spec sheets get thin, so read the construction, bottom bracket and included columns carefully.

Frame Fiber Construction stated by brand Bottom bracket Price includes Price
Supercross Vision F1x Toray M40X and M46X with Nano Alloy resin, blended with T1100-KS and T700S (60/20/20) Full one-piece monocoque T47 threaded (Pro and up), Euro 68 mm (Expert XL and down) Frame and removable V-brake and disc mounts. Fork, headset and disc adapters separate $2,399.95–
$2,495.95
Supercross Vision F1 Toray T1100-KS frame, T700S Nano Alloy fork Full one-piece monocoque. Captive carbon rear dropout, built-in idler, FLIP/CHIP T47 threaded (Pro and up), Euro 68 mm (Expert XL and down) Complete chassis — frame, matched carbon fork, sealed headset, idler, both disc adapters, V-brake mounts. See the full list above $1,995.95
Radio Raceline Terra TORAYCA (grade not published) Brand says "a whole new monocoque construction" BSA 68 mm Not published Not published
in USD
Radio Raceline Solar TORAYCA (grade not published) Brand says "100% monocoque 1pc construction" Euro threaded BSA 68 mm Not published ~$1,653
(in euros)
Speedco Velox Evo Not published on this model Not stated. "Power Junction" downtube-to-chainstay through the BB shell BB86 Not published $1,699.99
Speedco Velox Carbon Pro Toray T-700 (supplier and grade both published) Not stated BB86 Not published Not published
Chase ACT 1.2 Toray, grade not published per model Not stated PressFit BB86 Not published $1,499.99
Meybo HSX Carbon 2026 "Premium unidirectional carbon fiber" (no supplier, no grade) Not stated. "UD carbon formed tubes" BB86 (Expert), BB386 EVO (Pro up) Not published $1,799.95
Inspyre ERA CF "High-modulus Japanese carbon fiber," grade not published Not stated. "AXC layup," "DualYoke" architecture PressFit BB386 Frame only — stated plainly by the brand $1,699
Prophecy Scud Evo3 "High-modulus UD carbon from Japan," grade not published on this model EPS and PU internal moulding, no beading or overlapping of fibers PressFit BB86 Not published $1,359.00

How to read a carbon spec sheet

Four things determine whether a carbon frame is any good. Only one of them reliably appears on a spec sheet, and it is the least important of the four.

The mold decides the most and gets described the least. A one-piece monocoque front triangle is cured as a single continuous structure, so the load path runs unbroken from head tube to bottom bracket with no joint to fail. A frame built from separately cured tubes and then bonded or lugged together has joints, and joints are where fatigue starts. Both approaches can produce a fast frame. They are not the same thing, and the difference is worth understanding before you spend two thousand dollars.

Here is what putting every brand's page side by side actually tells you: almost nobody commits to an answer. The Vision F1 and F1x are one-piece monocoque, and the how is documented in our whitepaper rather than asserted in a bullet. A couple of other frames use the word monocoque in their marketing copy. Prophecy describes an EPS and polyurethane internal moulding process without answering the question either way. The rest give you a layup name, a resin or a proprietary junction and leave construction unstated entirely.

"Hand-laid" tells you nothing. What gets laid up tells you everything. Every carbon frame in this field is placed into the mold by human hands, ours included. That part is the industry, not the frame — advertising it is like advertising that the cheeseburger comes with cheese.

The question underneath it is the one almost nobody asks: is it prepreg, or is it a wet layup?

Prepreg arrives with the resin already impregnated into the fiber at a measured ratio, set by the material supplier, kept frozen until it goes into the mold, then cured under heat and pressure. The resin content is a specification. You can hold the factory to it.

A wet layup starts with dry fiber, and the resin goes on by hand during the layup. Whatever the laminator brushes on is what that area of the frame gets. The result is resin-rich zones that are heavy and brittle sitting next to resin-starved zones with dry fibers in them, in the same frame, with no way to tell from the outside which part of your bottom bracket is which. Dry fiber is where delamination starts.

Both processes get described as "hand-laid," and both are legal, and one of them is a far better frame. We run full prepreg in high-compaction steel molds, and the reasoning is written up in the whitepaper. So the useful version of the question is not whether hands were involved. It is: prepreg or wet layup, and what resin ratio? Ask it. If the answer is not immediate and specific, that is your answer.

And here is the part that matters, which is about manufacturing rather than about anybody in particular: "monocoque" has no enforced definition in this industry. It gets used for a true single-cure one-piece front triangle. It also gets used for frames whose sections are molded separately and then joined, where the finished shape looks seamless under paint. Nobody is policing the word. So a website is not evidence.

The way to actually find out costs one email. Ask the brand how many pieces come out of the mold, and where the joints are. A frame built in one cure has an answer to that and the answer is specific. If what comes back is the word "monocoque" again, you have not been told anything. Buy from whoever answers the question.

Fiber grade is a real number that gets asked to do too much work. Grade tells you the stiffness and strength of the raw filament. It tells you nothing about how much of it is in the frame, which direction it runs, or how well it was cured. A high-grade fiber laid up badly makes a worse frame than a lower grade laid up well. Two competing brands say this on their own websites and they are right to. Inspyre: "Many focus on labels or numbers (T700, T800, etc.), while real performance comes from the global construction of the layup — the way layers overlap, intersect, support each other and interact." Chase makes a parallel argument about modulus labels: "These terms relate to carbon's properties, not its quality." When a catalog carbon frame advertises a higher nominal grade than the established race brands at a third of the price, the grade is the cheapest part of that process to specify and the layup and the mold are the expensive parts.

We publish ours because we think you should be able to check it. The Vision F1x is not one fiber but four, in stated proportions: 60% Toray M40X and M46X for stiffness, 20% T1100-KS for impact survival, 20% T700S Nano Alloy prepreg for crash margin, Nano Alloy resin throughout. The Vision F1 before it ran T1100-KS in the frame with a T700S Nano Alloy fork — a different fiber and resin for the front end, because a fork sees different loads on a gate drop than a down tube does.

Those are not arbitrary grades. Toray Advanced Composites is a supplier to Formula 1, and an F1 car is not built from one carbon fiber — each area gets a fiber chosen for what that structure has to do. The M-series, M40X and M46X, is where teams go for thin, ultra-stiff structures that cannot be allowed to flex: aerodynamic elements and suspension linkages. High-modulus fiber used to mean brittle, and Toray's M40X and M46X are the generation that solved that, holding the stiffness while bringing the tensile strength back up. The T1100 series is the monocoque and crash-structure material, where survival depends on tensile strength under impact. T300, T700S and T800S do the secondary structures and bodywork. We broke the grades down one at a time in Toray T1100, M40X and M46X: The Carbon in Our BMX Frames.

Read our two frames against that and the logic is the same logic. A BMX gate start is a stiffness problem before it is anything else, which is why the F1x leads with M40X and M46X. What no team publishes, and what we are not going to pretend to know, is anyone's exact layup — the fiber mixes are trade secrets and stay that way. The grade is public; the recipe never is. The full engineering breakdown of ours is in the carbon engineering whitepaper.

The fourth thing is testing, and almost nobody publishes it. Ask any brand what safety standard the frame is tested to and what margin it clears by. Our carbon frames are tested to three times the EN BMX safety requirement, and the method is written up in the whitepaper linked above. Whoever you buy from, that question is worth asking, and how readily they answer tells you a lot.

Two names worth setting straight

Redline is out of the frame business. The brand is not dead — it is a house brand under Diamondback, and redlinebicycles.com now redirects to a Redline collection on the Diamondback site. But that collection holds six complete bikes and no aftermarket frames of any kind, and on 10 August 2026 every one of the six showed sold out. The Proline Expert race bikes use a proprietary aluminum frame. For a name that carried the Proline and the Flight and put more riders on the box than almost anyone in the 1980s, going from that to no frames at all deserves saying plainly rather than being quietly left off a list. The Redline Flight crank lives on under license here.

Answer's race frames were Anarchy. Answer BMX built its race frames under the Anarchy name, not under Answer. When Answer filed bankruptcy in 2010 the Anarchy name was sold to Supercross BMX, and the Answer brand itself has changed hands several times since. Answer today makes forks and components — the Dagger is a fork, not a frame, which trips people up constantly. So if you are hunting for an Anarchy race frame, the name lives here now.

And one that is arriving rather than leaving. S&M is very much alive and building hard this year. The Mad Dog in the chromoly table above is the closest thing in its current catalog to a race frame, and S&M says so itself — trails and track. But a purpose-built race frame is coming, and it belongs in this conversation: the Hatchet, a chromoly race frame running a flat-mount disc brake, which S&M showed in its own Factory Friday: Bury the Hatchet video in November 2025. Prototypes have been photographed since, including a 26" seen at Vegas, with press coverage putting expected retail somewhere around $600 to $700, and at least one dealer has opened a deposit list.

S&M itself publishes nothing on it yet — no product page, no tubing spec, no size run, no bottom bracket, no price, no ship date. So it is not in the table above: you cannot race it this season, and I am not going to print numbers a brand has not stated. The moment S&M publishes real specs, it goes in. A US-made chromoly race frame with a flat-mount disc from a company with that much fabrication history is a genuinely interesting thing to have back in the category.

The picks

Growing rider, first real race frame. Buy aluminum, buy the size that fits now, and do not spend more than about $650. The Chase RSP 5.0, Radio Helium and Inspyre Concorde V3 all sit right there, and our Vision RSX comes in under all of them at $549.95 with a threaded Euro BB in every size, both brake systems with removable mounts, both FLIP/CHIP axle sets and the chain idler in the box. Any of them is more frame than a growing rider will outride before the size changes.

Serious amateur putting down real power. This is where the alloy argument starts paying. Our 2026 ENVY RS7 at $699.95 is the frame I would put my own kid on, and the double heat-treated 6069 weld-zone story is the reason. It also ships with removable V-brake mounts and a welded-on disc tab in every size, so the brake decision stays open after you buy rather than being made for you at checkout. The Tangent Rift ES20D is the other frame taking heat treatment seriously, though at $899 in the Pro sizes it is playing in a different price bracket than the small sizes suggest.

Elite, and the gate start is your event. Carbon, and buy from someone who will tell you how it is built rather than what it is called. Our Vision F1x is the frame I have spent forty-five years working toward. But read the two Vision rows in the carbon table side by side before you assume the more expensive one is the better buy for you — the Vision F1 at $1,995.95 arrives as a complete chassis with the matched carbon fork and sealed headset in the box, and it has five years of World Cup and Olympic-final results behind it. Whatever you end up on, send the brand the mold question above before you spend two thousand dollars.

Racing steel, or racing vintage class. If you want chromoly with a modern race build, the Torker PRO-X at $649.95 includes the fork, which makes it the most complete steel package here. If you want period-correct — 1" threaded fork, side-pull brakes, the real thing — the EK 20 GEN II is built to that spec on purpose. If you are chasing published weight, Standard's numbers are the lightest on this page.

Buying for a kid under about ten. Ignore everything above and go back to the sizing chart. At that age the frame is not the limiting factor and it will not be for years. If you want something that fits a rider who is still growing into a race bike, the SX450 in chromoly is the one that survives being ridden everywhere, not just on the track.

Our whole line is in the race frames collection. If you want the receipts behind the byline rather than the sales pitch, the Golden Crank record and the Hall of Champions are both public. And if you would rather build than buy a frame and figure it out later, the bike builder walks through every part.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best BMX race frame in 2026?

There is no single answer, and any guide that gives you one is selling something. For a growing rider, the best frame is the cheapest one that fits, which puts you around $550 to $650 in aluminum. For a strong amateur, double heat-treated alloy is where the money starts working. For an elite rider whose event is the gate start, a one-piece monocoque carbon frame is measurably stiffer where it counts. Match the frame to the rider, not to the review.

Does a BMX race frame price include the fork?

Sometimes, and it is the most expensive assumption you can make. A carbon fork alone runs several hundred dollars, so a frame-only listing can end up costing more than a higher-priced complete chassis. The Supercross Vision F1 at $1,995.95 includes the matched carbon fork, sealed headset, chain idler, hydraulic and mechanical disc adapters and removable V-brake mounts. Pro size and larger also get both FLIP/CHIP sets, 15mm and 10mm, plus the 20mm axle adapters the Pro fork uses; Expert XL and smaller run a 3/8" dropout fork that needs no adapters and get the 10mm FLIP/CHIP set. Every Torker chromoly race frame includes a heat-treated chromoly fork. Inspyre states "frame only" plainly. Most other brands do not say either way — ask before you buy.

Threaded or press-fit bottom bracket — does it really matter?

Yes, and it is the spec most likely to decide whether your bike stays silent. Press-fit shells — BB86, BB92, BB30, PF30, BB386 and Mid — have no threads; the bearings are pressed in as an interference fit. That is cheaper to manufacture and it works until the fit loosens by a fraction of a millimetre, at which point it creaks and there is nothing to tighten. A threaded shell — Euro (BSA) or T47 — takes preload from a torque wrench, can be re-tightened, can have its threads chased if damaged, and can be serviced at a track with normal tools. Euro is the standard and T47 is the best of both, keeping threads while using the larger shell diameter that allows bigger bearings and a 30 mm spindle. Worth knowing that Chris King, whose reputation rests entirely on bearings, calls its whole bottom bracket range ThreadFit and builds one specifically to put threads back into a press-fit-sized shell. Supercross ran an American press-fit shell on its early cro-mo frames like everyone else, switched to threaded Euro in 2001 on the UL series, and has been threaded ever since.

Isn't a press-fit bottom bracket stiffer?

It can be, and that is a fair claim rather than marketing. Press-fit shells are usually wider in diameter, a wider shell takes a bigger bearing, and a bigger bearing allows a 30 mm spindle, which is stiffer in torsion than 24 mm or 22 mm. But that stiffness comes from the shell diameter, not from the absence of threads — threads never made a bottom bracket flexible, a narrow shell did. T47 takes the same wide shell and cuts threads into it, so you keep the stiffness and get the torque wrench back. And remember stiffness figures are measured on a new frame: a creaking press-fit shell is a joint with play in it at the highest-load junction on the bike, which is a stiffness failure by definition, and there is no thread to take that play back out.

What is a captive rear dropout, and why does it matter?

A traditional dropout is a slot, open at one end, with the axle clamped in it. Under load — especially under disc braking, where the caliper tries to drive the wheel forward out of the slot — that open end can spread, which the trade calls the horseshoe effect. The wheel shifts, the chain line goes with it, and the rotor moves relative to the caliper. A captive dropout encases the axle instead, so the wheel sits where you put it, the chain line stays true and disc position repeats every time the wheel comes out. The Supercross Vision F1, Vision F1x and Vision RSX all run one — solid carbon on the F1 and F1x, hollow CNC 6061-T6 billet with 12 mm of solid aluminum at the axle clamp on the RSX.

What does the Supercross FLIP/CHIP do?

Two things. It sizes the rear dropout for either a 15 mm or a 10 mm (3/8") axle, so you are not locked to one axle standard, and it flips to move the axle forward or back, which changes chainstay length — shorter for tracks that reward acceleration, longer for stability. Pro chassis ship with both sets; Expert XL and smaller include the 10 mm set. If you choose to run without an idler, the FLIP/CHIP is optimised for 44/16 gearing with a half-link chain across the Pro sizes.

Is a built-in chain idler better than a bolt-on one?

An integrated idler is part of the frame structure rather than an accessory attached to it, so there is no arm to work loose, rattle or shear, and nothing to re-tighten between motos. The Vision F1, Vision F1x and Vision RSX all use a built-in idler and guide to take chain slack out of a long rear end. When you are comparing frames, ask whether the idler is integrated or bolted on, and what holds it in place.

Is there a minimum weight for a BMX race bike?

No. Neither the UCI nor USA BMX sets a minimum or maximum bike weight for BMX racing. The 6.8 kg UCI figure applies to road, track and cyclo-cross, and BMX is explicitly named in the carve-out. The word "weight" does not appear in UCI Part 6 or in the 2026 USA BMX rulebook at all.

Are disc brakes legal in BMX racing?

Yes. UCI Article 1.3.025 states that disc brakes are allowed in BMX racing training and competition. USA BMX never mentions disc brakes, requiring only an operating hand or coaster brake, so they are legal there by silence. Any source telling you the UCI bans disc brakes in BMX is wrong.

Can I run a disc brake and a V-brake on the same frame?

On some frames, yes, and it is worth checking before you buy. The 2026 ENVY RS7 ships with removable V-brake mounts and a welded-on disc tab in every size from Micro to Pro XXXXL. The Vision RSX takes both with removable mounts and molded internal cable ports for each, and both Vision carbon frames do as well. At the other end, Cult lists its race frames as disc only. Frames built around one system make that decision permanent, so read the brake spec as carefully as the alloy.

Which brands still make a chromoly BMX race frame?

As of 10 August 2026, five are shipping: Supercross (SX450 and OS20 SX450), Torker (PRO-X, LP Race, EK 20 GEN II, Barbarian-2), Standard Byke Company (the R-Series, built in Davenport, Iowa), Cult (the Vick Behm race frame in 20" and 24") and S&M (the Mad Dog 990, which S&M positions for trails and track — note its Mid bottom bracket and 3/8" dropouts before you plan a modern race build around it). Another is coming: S&M's Hatchet, a purpose-built chromoly race frame with a flat-mount disc shown in a November 2025 Factory Friday video, with prototypes photographed since but no published spec, size run or price yet. Plenty of other brands build excellent chromoly — Sunday's whole line is 4130 — but street and park frames are a different geometry for a different job.

Is carbon or aluminum better for a BMX race frame?

Carbon is stiffer for its weight and better at the gate start, and it costs two to four times as much. Aluminum is where most of the sport races, and a good aluminum frame beats a badly chosen carbon one. If you are still growing, still learning gate starts, or not yet putting down real power, aluminum is the correct answer and the money is better spent on wheels.

What sizes do BMX race frames come in for tall adult riders?

Further up than most people realize. We build the big sizes in all three of our race platforms — the Vision F1, the Vision F1x and the 2026 ENVY RS7 — and they are raced at the top level, not just listed on a chart. Kye Whyte, Oli Moran and Gaige Gomolicke all race the big sizes, and Kristers Apels is on a Vision F1x in the 4XXXXL. Check the top of any brand's size chart the same way a parent checks the bottom of it.

What does monocoque mean on a carbon BMX frame?

A one-piece monocoque front triangle is cured as a single continuous structure, so the load path runs unbroken from head tube to bottom bracket with no joint to fail. A bonded or lugged frame is built from separately cured tubes joined afterwards, and those joints are where fatigue starts. Be aware that the word has no enforced definition in cycling and appears in marketing copy for both kinds of frame, so it is not evidence on its own. Ask the brand how many pieces come out of the mold and where the joints are.

Does "hand-laid" mean a carbon frame is better made?

No. Every carbon frame in this field is placed into the mold by hand, ours included, so on its own the phrase describes the industry rather than the frame. The question worth asking instead is whether the frame is prepreg or a wet layup. Prepreg arrives with the resin already impregnated into the fiber at a measured ratio and is cured under heat and pressure, so resin content is a specification. A wet layup starts with dry fiber and the resin is applied by hand during layup, which leaves resin-rich areas that are heavy and brittle next to resin-starved areas with dry fibers in them — and dry fiber is where delamination begins. Both get called hand-laid. Supercross carbon frames are full prepreg, cured in high-compaction steel molds.

What is the difference between prepreg and wet layup carbon?

Prepreg is carbon fiber that comes from the material supplier with the resin already impregnated at a controlled, measured ratio. It is stored frozen, laid into the mold, and cured under heat and pressure, so the amount of resin in the finished frame is a number someone specified and can be held to. A wet layup uses dry fiber with resin applied by hand as it is laid up, so the ratio is whatever the laminator puts on in that spot. That produces heavy, brittle resin-rich zones and dry, void-prone resin-starved zones within a single frame, and neither is visible from the outside once it is painted. It is the single biggest quality difference in carbon construction that almost no spec sheet mentions.

Does carbon fiber grade tell you how good a frame is?

No. Fiber grade describes the raw filament, not how much of it is in the frame, which direction it runs, or how well it was cured. A high grade laid up badly makes a worse frame than a lower grade laid up well. Two competing race brands say exactly this on their own websites. Treat a high advertised grade at a low price as a signal about what was cheap to specify, not about what was expensive to build.

Which BMX brands stopped making race frames?

Redline no longer sells frames of any kind — it is now a Diamondback house brand offering complete bikes only, though the Redline Flight crank continues under license. Answer's race frames were sold under the Anarchy name, and that name was bought by Supercross BMX when Answer filed bankruptcy in 2010; Answer today makes forks and components. S&M is a different case — it is still building, and while its current shipping catalog is street, park and trails, it has a chromoly race frame called the Hatchet on the way.

How this guide was built

Aluminum and carbon specifications were read off each manufacturer's own product page on 9 August 2026. The chromoly field, and the availability findings on Redline, S&M, SE, Sunday, Profile, Answer, DK and Haro, were researched on 10 August 2026 from those brands' own sites. Where a frame has been announced but not specified — the S&M Hatchet is the live example — the announcement is reported and the numbers are left blank, because expected retail from a show floor is not a price a brand has published. Several brands publish no US MSRP at all; for those the figure is a current US retail selling price, not a wholesale or dealer cost, and it is labelled as such. Prices are the brand's own where published, and they move. Frames priced only in euros are converted at the rate on the day and marked approximate rather than printed as a US price the brand never set. Rulebook citations are to UCI Part 6 BMX Racing v.01.01.2026, UCI Part 1 General Organisation v.01.07.2026, and the 2026 USA BMX rulebook.

Where a brand does not publish a figure, this guide says "Not published" rather than estimating, inferring from a review, or filling it in from memory. That rule is applied to our own frames too — no Torker page publishes a frame weight, and that column is blank for every Torker frame here while Standard, Cult and S&M have numbers. Small-batch BMX frame runs move fast, and stock and pricing will shift between writing and reading. If something here is out of date or wrong, tell us and we will fix it and say we did.

Bill Ryan
Founder of Supercross BMX. Former Technical Editor, BMX Plus Magazine. Workshop columnist, GO Magazine. Designer of 8x Bike of the Year race frames. 37+ years in BMX.